The Doctoral School of Management Sciences set up jointly by the ULB (Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management), the ULiège (HEC Liège – School of Management) and the UMONS (Warocqué School of Business and Economics) aims to offer high level training, in accordance with the most demanding international standards, combining mastery of theories and methods, innovation, critical thinking, group work and personal approach. The programme is organized around a general principle: the creation of value in an increasingly globalized world, as applied to the various fields of management: strategy, finance, marketing, production, information systems, organization, human resources, etc.


The programme is bilingual (French/English) and gives priority to international openness, scientific excellence and innovation as well as publication in scientific journals. The priority of international openness is marked in particular by research collaborations with certain foreign institutions: the Maastricht University School of Business and Economics, the Lille Institute of Business Administration, University of Lille 1, the management training and research unit of the University of Paris I Pantheon-Sorbonne.


The doctoral training programme offered by the ULB, the ULiège and the UMONS meets the essential conditions of specialization and integration of knowledge in a global economy. It is FNRS-approved. It comprises a) a core curriculum aimed at assuring a uniform skills base, encouraging knowledge among doctoral students and comparison of models, research questions and methods; b) a specialization programme comprising advanced classes and themed workshops in each of the six management areas: international trade and development; finance and accounting; information systems, supply chain management and Management Quantitative Methods; marketing and strategy; human resources and organization; innovation and entrepreneurship.


The programme is managed by a scientific Committee made up of representatives from each university:


  • ULiège: Prof. Yves Crama and Prof. Marie Lambert
  • UMONS: Prof. Chantal Scoubeau and Prof. Mélanie Volral (EDT spokesperson)
  • ULB: Prof. François Rycx and Prof. Ariane Szafarz